1.633 mining licenses are revoked by FG

Minister of Solid Minerals Development, Dele Alake

The Ministry of Solid Minerals Development, on behalf of the Federal Government, has revoked the mineral titles of 1,633 companies that were previously granted such titles to mining companies that failed to comply.

Dele Alake, the Minister of Solid Minerals Development, made the announcement on Tuesday in Abuja during a press briefing.

According to him, the licenses of these mineral title holders were revoked for nonpayment of N1,500 per cadastral unit in mandatory annual service fees.

“The Mining Cadastre Office has recommended the revocation of the following 1,633 mineral titles: Mining Lease 31, 536 Exploration Licenses, 279 Quarry Licenses, and 787 Small Scale Mining Licenses,” he stated.

“By the authority granted to me by Section 5 (a) of the NMMA 2007, I have authorized the revocation of 1,633 titles.”