Man City has won the Premier League

Saturday’s loss by second-placed Arsenal to Nottingham Forest by a score of 1-0 gave Manchester City its fifth Premier League title in six years.

Mikel Arteta’s squad still trails City by four points with one game remaining after suffering a second consecutive loss.

Forest are now secure from relegation in their first season back in the Premier League in 23 years, thanks to the game-winning goal scored by Taiwo Awoniyi.

Next month, Pep Guardiola’s men face Manchester United in the FA Cup final and Inter Milan in the Champions League final, so City’s title victory could be the beginning of a treble.

Arsenal challenged the defending champions for the majority of the season, but fell apart in the crucial final months.

They have won only two of their last eight games, allowing City to cruise to victory with three games remaining.

The visitors hardly appeared capable of scoring as the City Ground’s vociferous crowd pushed Forest to victory.

Within the first 20 minutes, Arteta’s decision to field an experimental back four without any established fullbacks backfired.

Morgan Gibbs-White has been crucial to Forest’s turnaround after they won only one of their first eleven league games.

The England under-21 international assisted Awoniyi’s lone goal, as he scored his fifth goal in three games against Aaron Ramsdale.

Forest were then content to retreat and defend their lead, whereas Arsenal’s early-season brilliance as a vibrant youthful team had faded.

Bukayo Saka’s tame effort that Keylor Navas easily saved was the closest they came to tying the game.

Arteta’s squad, the second-youngest in the Premier League, has run out of steam just as City has reached maximum speed.

The newly-crowned champions are undefeated in 23 games across all competitions, including last month’s 4-1 annihilation of Arsenal in a top-of-the-table clash.

At the bottom of the table, Forest has moved six points clear of the relegation zone, meaning that two teams from Everton, Leeds, or Leicester will join Southampton in the Championship next season.