Parts of Enugu, Akwa Ibom, and Kano rerun elections are halted by INEC


In certain states of Enugu, Akwa Ibom, and Kano, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the ongoing re-run/bye-elections in those constituencies suspended.

Sam Olumekun, a spokesperson for INEC, stated in a statement that the suspension was the result of disruptions, irregularities, and the abduction of election officials.

Olumekun identifies the impacted regions as follows: Enugu South 1 State Constituency, located in Enugu State; Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency, situated in Akwa Ibom State; and Kunchi/Tsanyawa State Constituency, situated in Kano State.

INEC announced the suspension of elections in two polling units (Village Hall, EdemUrua 003 in Ini Local Government Area and Village Hall Mbiabong Ikot Udo 003 in Ikono LGA) due to the theft of all election materials by criminals (Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency, Akwa Ibom State).

“Elections in the Enugu South 1 State Constituency, Enugu State, have been suspended in all eight polling units because voters were unable to inspect the original results sheets prior to the start of the elections.”

“Elections in all ten Polling Units in Kunchi Local Government Area (LGA) have been halted in the Kano State constituency of Kunchi/Tsanyawa due to thugs’ invasion, vandalism, and disruption.”

According to Olumekun, the Commission’s choice to halt the rerun/bye elections in the specified regions is consistent with the stipulations outlined in Section 24(3) of the Electoral Act, 2022.

The spokesperson further stated that subsequent essential actions for the impacted constituencies will be declared subsequent to the meeting of the Commission on Monday, February 5, 2024.

Additionally, Olumekun revealed that INEC has extended an invitation to the security agencies to conduct an investigation into the occurrences, and that the Commission is steadfast in its determination to extensively question any violations that may have involved its personnel.