Tinubu congratulates Adesina on winning the Awolowo Leadership Prize


Akinwumi Adesina, the President of the African Development Bank (AfDB), has been bestowed with the esteemed Obafemi Awolowo Prize for Leadership.

Professor Wole Soyinka, the Nobel Laureate of Nigeria; Thabo Mbeki, the former President of South Africa; and Chief Afe Babalola, a lawyer-educator, were among the esteemed individuals who have been honored with the award before Adesina.

A statement was issued by Tinubu’s media aide, Ajuri Ngelale, in which he expressed admiration for the AfDB President’s noble and visionary effort to ensure food security on the continent and transform agriculture in Africa. Tinubu recalled the growth enhancement schemes that revolutionized Nigeria’s agriculture value chains, which he implemented during his tenure as Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development.

The President praised Adesina’s impeccable track record and credibility, in addition to his tremendous leadership and development contributions, especially in the field of agriculture, which have garnered him international acclaim and numerous accolades, including the World Food Prize in 2017.

More success at AfDB and fortitude in his devotion to Africa and humanity at large were aspirations expressed by Tinubu to the AfDB president.

Adesina received the honor at a ceremony held in Lagos on Wednesday, which was attended by several African leaders, including current and former governors.