WHO issues a warning regarding Monkey Pox plague in DR Congo


As of Saturday, the World Health Organization documented the highest annual toll ever recorded in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, with 12,569 cases of pox and 581 fatalities associated with the disease through November 12.
In 1970, in the DRC, the infectious disease formerly known as monkeypox was identified in humans for the first time.
In several West and Central African nations, where epidemics frequently originated from infected animal-to-human transmission, the virus has been endemic for years.

The WHO stated that infected provinces comprised all but four of the twenty-six in the DRC, with “new cases reported in geographic areas that had not previously reported pox, including Kinshasa, Lualaba, and South Kivu.”

A variant’s transmissibility concerns the WHO, which stated it was collaborating with the health ministry of Congo to assess the situation.
Outside the disease’s endemic regions, an increase in infections in Europe and the United States during the previous year prompted the WHO to declare a public health emergency of international concern in July 2022, the highest level of alert it can issue.
In May of this year, the alert was lifted, but populations were advised to maintain vigilance.

According to the WHO, the worldwide pandemic has predominantly impacted males who engage in sexual activity with other males and have recently done so with one or more partners.
Additionally, contaminated objects can transmit the disease.
Five days of fever, migraines, muscle pain, and back pain comprise the initial symptoms.
The condition progresses from the appearance of rashes on the face, palms of hands, and soles of feet to the formation of excruciating lesions, spots, and scabs.
Generally, the illness resolves itself within a span of two to four weeks. It is most severe in minors, pregnant women, and individuals with immune system compromise.

The WHO reports that a cumulative of 91,788 cases and 167 fatalities were documented across 116 countries and territories between January 2022 and October 31 of this year.